Dominion

You have rescued me,

You have rescued me

You took a wretch like this,

And loved me, and You saved me..

-Citipointe Live

These few lines of the song are what we Christians tend to forget. Sometimes we get too comfortable with our security blankets, or we get too familiar with our relationship with God that it becomes just a routine of waking up everyday and praying for guidance and protection, merely reading the bible for quiet time’s sake, or even just remembering God when something big happens or when our own lives spiral down on us. True story.

We miss the whole point of this powerful bridge to Citipointe’s “Dominion”. I like how the first two lines are repeated for a well-deserved emphasis; a knock-down reminder that we were once beaten up with our sins, but our Saviour has come through for us. A wretch like me, you. The hardest thing to comprehend is why God, who has dominion over all the Universe and has set everything into being, is concerned about our very lives and is more than eager to fix them. I can just stare with wide-eyed wonder at how He should care about my broken heart, or my scabbed knee. And it is just right that everyday will hold more reasons for me to celebrate not only for knowing and being aware of this astronomical Love, but it should be my pleasure to share it with everyone. I wouldn’t like seeing my own life being furbished up, while I see others walk in zombie-state, paralyzed to their sins. God doesn’t only want to fix my life, God wants to fix yours as well. Allow Him to.

love,

André


Leave a comment